National and historical symbols of Hungary

In this section you can find the crests of almost 2400 settlements of Hungary with notes. Find the starting letter of the settlement in the list and click if you want to see it.

The Coat-of-Arms of the Village of Szilvásvárad [¤]
Click to zoom

Szilvásvárad

(County Heves)

Szilvásvárad's coat-of-arms is a shield erect party per cross gules and azure, the base curved to a point. The first field bears: gules, a horse forcene reversed argent. The second and the third fields bear: azure, three oak leaves and three pairs of acorn respectively, all argent. The fourth field bears: gules, a triple mound vert borne asymmetrically.

The village of Szilvásvárad's area of administration is 3,782 hectares, the number of residents is 2,000.

Szilvásvárad is located on the western side of the Bükk Mountains, at 400 metres above sea level in a hilly and wooded area in the valley of the brook Szalajka, by the railway between Eger and Putnok.

The village is a very old settlement; the cave at nearby Istállóskő was a significant dwelling place of prehistoric man as early as the Stone Age. The church was also established rather early. In the papal tithe registers and in the oldest Hungarian documents the settlement was mentioned by the name Warad. During the reign of Charles I (Charles Robert), until 1438 it was a crown possession. Later, together with Dédes, King Albert bestowed it on the Pálóczi family. From that time onward the village was called Zylvaswarad and, later, Sylvas Warad.

When the Pálóczi family died out, the settlement got owned by the Perényis. At that time it was mentioned as Szilvás. In 1568 part of the village went into the possession of a Protestant landlord, Ferenc Kátay. The villagers converted to Calvinism, and in 1576 they already had a church of their own. After the Turks had captured Eger, they also took hold of Szilvásvárad. Apart from the Kátays, further landlords included the Semseys and the Bárius family. In 1666 Miklós Keglevich obtained part of the village, and later the whole settlement also went into his possession. He was the owner until the second half of the 19th century. From Keglevich the village was bought by Rudolf Erdődy, who in the line of ownership was followed by Wesszely, a Bohemian industrialist. The mansion in the middle of the park was built by Count Erdődy, from whom it was bought by Marquis Alfonz Pallavicini in the early 20th century. Following the nationalisation, in 1945 it started to function as a holiday home.

Szilvásvárad is one of Hungary's most renowned resorts. Apart from listed buildings and the museum of traditional folk art, it boasts extraordinary attractions like the picturesque Szalajka Valley with the 'veil waterfall', the open-air forest museum, the ponds rich in trout, the romantic narrow-gauge railway and the nearby prehistoric cave of Istállóskő. The open-air riding ground and the indoor riding hall make it possible for horse shows to be organised. Together with the natural beauty of the environment, these facilities provide an opportunity for Szilvásvárad to develop into one of Hungary's outstanding riding centres in the near future.

Szilvásvárad's factors of attraction are the following:

- natural scenic spots in the Bükk National Park;

- the Lippizan herd of horses and the establishments related to riding;

- listed buildings.

The Open-air Forest Museum cherishes the memory of the men who used to work in adverse conditions. The museum, to be found in the Horotna Valley branching off the valley of the brook Szalajka, displays the forest workers' dwelling place and tools in their original condition, and demonstrates the traditional process of their work.

The Szalajka-valley Museum of Forestry opened in 1985. On the ground floor visitors can see the forest keeper's office laid out exactly as it used to be, together with old maps related to forestry or their copies, documents, instruments, identity papers, as well as relics of forestry sent from other European countries.

The glass cases on the upper floor display sylvicultural instruments together with those used in map plotting, the process of growing seeds and saplings, and the methods of renewing, planting, growing and the protection of forests.

In the village there is the Orbán-house, built around 1880 by Mihály Orbán for himself and his son. Between 1978 and 1982 the directorate of the museums of Heves county had it renovated and arranged for an exhibition titled The Natural Image of the Bükk Mountains to be opened in 1983. The six galleries of the exhibition display Szilvásvárad's nearly 300 million years of history. In addition to the relics of Earth history, the botanical and zoological treasures of the Bükk National Park are also to be seen. The other significant factor of attraction is the Lippizan horse and the system of establishments related to horses and riding.

Szilvásvárad gives home to the 400-year-old breed of Lippizan horses, which had to survive many vicissitudes in the course of history. Here the horses can live under circumstances similar to those in their original place of breeding. Although the Hungarian Lippizan horses have kept their classic looks created according to the taste of the Baroque age, they can stand the test of today's modern riding competitions, as proven by the multitude of medals won at world championships.

At Szilvásvárad all the eight stocks of the Lippizan breed of horses are raised. Their origin suits the exacting international specifications, thus it is understandable that there is a growing interest in this breed of great past and outstanding quality. The touristic attractions related to the herd include the stallion stables, the exhibition showing the history of the Lippizan horse, the parent herd, the colt herd, the riding ground and the indoor riding hall.

The Calvinist church, a listed building, was probably designed by József Zwengler, who was commissioned to draw up the plan by Miklós Keglevich. The construction was carried out by Ferenc Povolni, a builder of national fame from Eger. The building, a Classical-style round church standing in beautiful surroundings on a hill, was completed in 1926.

The bell cage, in part made of wood, was erected in the early 19th century. The wooden structure follows the traditions of Hungarian wooden churches.

The Pallavicini mansion is a detached building that stands in a picturesque environment. It was built around 1860 by Miklós Ybl, who also incorporated the remaining parts of the original 18th-century structure. At present it functions as the Szilvás Hotel and is awaiting guests.

At present Szilvásvárad is witnessing continuous development. It can boast a full range of public utilities, since in recent years the system of gas pipe, running water and drainpipes, as well as a telephone network have been built, and the area's most up-to-date sewage purification plant is also in operation here. Due to the attractive environment and the fully developed infrastructure, the population of the village is constantly growing and will hopefully grow in the future as well.

Pictures:

1. Fátyol (Veil) Waterfall

2. Pallavicini Mansion

3. Scenery at Szilvásvárad