National and historical symbols of Hungary

In this section you can find the crests of almost 2400 settlements of Hungary with notes. Find the starting letter of the settlement in the list and click if you want to see it.

The Coat-of-Arms of the Village of Lajoskomárom [¤]
Click to zoom


(The County of Fejér)

The coat-of-arms is shaped like a shield, enfiled by a floral ornament or. The shield is ensigned by a coronet referring to the ducal Batthyány family. In the middle of the shield in a field argent a letter "H" or symbolising the ground plan of the village, the connecting limb surmounted by the church towers of the three village-founding denominations. In the chief a drapery azure bordered by two wheat ears or, while in the base Hungary's national colours are borne.

The chiselled ornament and the crown are the reminders of the village-founder Batthyány family, whereas the "H" shape is a reference to their ducal title (the Hungarian word for duke being herceg), as well as to the village's original ground plan. The colour blue is a symbol of peace, while the wheat-ear-shaped border is that of agriculture. The three church towers symbolise the three village-founding ethnic groups, the Roman Catholic Hungarians, the Lutheran Germans and the Calvinist Slovaks. The azure-or (blue and yellow) combination of colours signifies the colours of the village, while the Hungarian national colours in the base are the manifestation of the settlement's national status.