National and historical symbols of Hungary

In this section you can find the crests of almost 2400 settlements of Hungary with notes. Find the starting letter of the settlement in the list and click if you want to see it.

The Coat of Arms of the Village of Héhalom [¤]
Click to zoom

Héhalom

(Nógrád County)

Spade shield erect and party per fess with three lines. Its base is rounded. On the top a three-pointed heraldic crown or, decorated with gems. In chief azure the charge of a three-arched stone bridge argent is borne, a motif, which depicts the settlement’s most unique sight, Héhalom’s old bridge, built in Classicist style in 1833. At fess gules above a triple mound vert a star or on the dexter side and a moon crescent and also or are borne. In base azure a pallium (Y-shaped bend) is borne, argent, a motif, which symbolises the two streams of Bér and Buják, flowing together in the vicinity of the village. Below the shield a ribbon or is borne, in which the settlement’s name HÉHALOM is inscribed in capital letters sable.

As it is attested by several archeological finds the area of Héhalom was inhabited before the Hungarian Conquest. The finds, unearthed on the Templom Hill and in the outer fields of Héhalom all refer to the existence of a Bronze-age settlement.

The name of Héhalom goes back to a written source of 1300. Documents of 1385 and 1406 called the settlement Hywhalom. In 1439 it was mentioned as a property belonging to the castle of Buják and owned by István Báthory. Later it became a toll-gathering point. Héhalom was also part of a map of 1528, made by Lazarus, secretary of the Archbishop of Esztergom. The geographical map of Hungary, which was made in 1560 and today is seen on the Bella Loggia wall of the Vatican, Hihalom is one of the 180 denoted Hungarian settlements. In the middle of the 16th century the village was conquered by the Turks and after the Turkish era Ferenc Nádasdy became the owner of the place. In the years 1633-34 Héhalom once again belonged to the part Hungary which was ruled by the Turks. After the Turkish reign new owners possessed the village and the members of the famous Esterházy family were among them.

The fertile soil was the basis for the subsistence of local people for many centuries. The settlement’s Roman Catholic church was built in 1807, its stone bridge, a local monument of architecture was constructed in 1833. The building, in which the Mayor’s Office is located, was completed in 1911. The Primary School of the settlement was built in 1905 and in 1995 it was enlarged with four classrooms and a gymnasium.

A village museum was established at Héhalom in 1995 in a 100-year old rural cottage. Artefacts of folk life, agricultural tools, pieces of old clothing have been collected in the showcases of this museum.

In the park in front of the Village Hall the bronze bust of the great Hungarian poet, Sándor Petőfi can be found. The bust was inaugurated on March 15th, 1996 in the presence of Sándor Erdei, the sculptor.

Natural resources of the village include the streams of Bér and Buják, the 181-m high Temető Hill and the Templom Hill. The most unique feature of this latter area is the special wild grass, which, supposedly, was brought here by the migrating ancient tribes from the grassy steppes of Eastern Asia.